RSS

“Death Is Not Dying” – Hope in the Face of Death

13 Feb

It’s Monday – and that’s means Biography Day on this blog.  Today, I will share with you a remarkable story of a woman who faced death with great hope and courage.  Her name is Rachel Barkey who died on July 2, 2009 right here in Vancouver. BC.  Rachel is survived by her husband Neil and her children Quinn and Kate, parents Ben and Cathy Sawer, brother David (Johanna) Sawer and sister Andrea Sawer.  Please remember them in your prayers.

After four and a half years of vigilantly fighting breast cancer, Rachel Barkey, a 37-year-old wife and mother of two was diagnosed with terminal cancer.  Joshua Harris wrote on his blog when Rachel was still alive and battling cancer:

Rachel’s story is not unlike what thousands of women around the world have experienced. A diagnosis that changes a woman’s life and inevitably takes from her what we consider to be most precious.  But for Rachel the essence of life is found in her relationship with God through Jesus. And that’s why Rachel is convinced that death is not dying.

In the video below, you will get a chance to meet Rachel herself as she shares her story of trusting the LORD as she faced death.  You will hear her make bold statements about her faith and her identity in Jesus Christ.  Just to whet your appetite, you will hear her say with great boldness and confidence, “Cancer does not define me…Neither does being a wife or a mother.  All these things are part of who I am, but they do not define me.  What defines me is my relationship with Jesus.”

“…Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord from now on.” “Blessed indeed,” says the Spirit, “that they may rest from their labors, for their deeds follow them!” Revelation 14:13

Visit Rachel’s Website

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 13, 2012 in Biography

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to ““Death Is Not Dying” – Hope in the Face of Death

  1. Khama Mphatso

    February 14, 2012 at 10:25

    Due to poor internet facility, I haven’t been able to follow the clip. The issue is really moving and I greatly envy Rachel and her realisation in the relationship with God. Can I share the same courage if faced with a similar situation? God help me realise more each and every day. I wish I could get a CD of this, at my cost, its a life lived to its fullest, though seemingly short.

     
    • Bible Answers

      February 14, 2012 at 10:31

      Hello Khama, I will be glad to get you a DVD or Rachel’s message and testimony to the amazing and sufficient grace of God which saw her through her battle with cancer. Please send me your contact details via e-mail. Thanks and God bless!

       
      • Marcel

        March 20, 2012 at 10:44

        Dear sir/madam,

        Since March 2011 I’m trying to get a DVD of this amazing speech. It’s such a great, inspiring, learning, joyfull video that I’ll do whatever I can to make this known in Holland. I’ve already found some volunteers for subtitling and publishing (for free) this DVD with Dutch subtitles. There is a transcript made alreday. The big problem is… I can’t get a DVD! :( By mail the person behind the website of Barkey doesn’t respond also on Facebook there comes no reaction at all. I don’t know what to do anymore… so I ‘googled’ the name of Rachel in the hope to found some people to contact to make my dream/vision for the women in Holland possible.

        This message can be such a great blessing for the people in The Netherlands. And the brothers and sisters that are volunteering in this job agree. But… I don’t have DVD or a copy of it.

        Please, can you help me with this project?

        Brotherly regards,
        Marcel Vroegop
        The Netherlands

         
  2. Bible Answers

    March 26, 2012 at 15:29

    Hello Marcel,
    Thank you for your comment and for making contact with me regarding this. I will see about getting you the DVD as you have requested and will get back to you on that. Blessings in Christ!

     
    • Marcel

      March 26, 2012 at 15:32

      That would be such a help! You can contact me at marcelvroegop[@]hotmailDOTcom

       
 
